29

J.S. Park's As Long As You Need: Permission To Grieve

Black Eyed Stories April/May Book Selection
29
Transcript

No transcript...

Let’s give each other permission to grieve. I’m inviting you to heal (a little) with me by reading JS Park’s newest book, AS LONG AS YOU NEED: PERMISSION TO GRIEVE. It releases next Tuesday! So there’s plenty of time to pre-order.

I hope you’ll read the book and DM me your feelings and questions for my upcoming IG Live with the lovely author, J.S. Park, on May 7th. 

Here’s are some quotes just from the introduction of the book: 

  • Grief makes it possible to connect a smear of stars into a constellation.

  • I’ve seen hundreds of people die—but in learning their stories, I have also seen them live.

  • At the edge of memory, the dead are brought to life. Remembrance is resurrection.

  • I suppose this is what a chaplain does. I am a grief catcher. I catch stories. I catch bodies. I catch memories. I catch the dead. I may have never met them alive, but in my dreams I do.

And this one: 

Grief is a story gasping to be told.
I’m telling you this because nobody else told me:
There is no such thing as closure.
There is no final stitch, no last stop.
We do not move on. We move with.


That’s JS Park, y’all. I’m inviting you to come and go with me to meet him in the halls of living and dying. I will be there. I sure hope to see you there too. 


Black Eyed Stories is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

29 Comments
Black Eyed Stories
Black Eyed Stories
Slighty Bruised & Battered Thoughts, Essays & Other Contemplations
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Marcie Alvis Walker
Recent Episodes